Your SEO optimized title

Nigeria amongst list of 34 “Islamic” nations form anti-terrorism coalition


Saudi Arabia has said 34 Islamic nations has formed an alliance to join the military in fighting terrorism. This is according to BBC reports.
A joint operations centre is to be established in the Saudi capital, Riyadh, state media reported.
Countries from Asia, Africa and the Arab world are involved in the alliance but Saudi Arabia’s main regional rival Iran is not.
It comes amid international pressure for Gulf Arab states to do more in the fight against so-called Islamic State.
Saudi Defence Minister Mohammed bin Salman said the new alliance would co-ordinate efforts against extremists in Iraq, Syria, Libya, Egypt and Afghanistan.
Afghanistan, Iraq and Syria are not in the coalition.
‘Support from others’
“This comes from the Islamic world’s vigilance in fighting this disease [Islamic extremism] which has damaged the Islamic world,” Prince Mohammed said.
“Currently, every Muslim country is fighting terrorism individually… so co-ordinating efforts is very important.”
The coalition would not just focus on fighting IS, he added.
The full list of 34 members: Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Benin, Chad, Comoros, Cote d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Gabon, Guinea, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Morocco, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, the Palestinians, Qatar, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates and Yemen.


Leave A Reply