Your SEO optimized title

FULL LIST: Rohr names squad for AFCON 2021 qualifiers against Benin, Lesotho


Captain Ahmed Musa is back after injury as Gernot Rohr, Super Eagles technical adviser, named the twenty-three players for the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying matches against Benin Republic and Lesotho in November.

Goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi has been called for the first time since the 2019 AFCON in Egypt as first choice as Francis Uzoho is out for several months after his horrific injury against Brazil.

Ramon Azeez of Granada also got a recall after playing in the 1-1 draw with Brazil in Singapore on October 13.

Kenneth Omeruo is also back, while there is another opportunity for midfielder Mikel Agu to flow back to the mainstream.

Samuel Kalu, France-based utility player, also returned after missing the friendly against Brazil while Oghenekaro Etebo, England-based midfielder, is on standby as a result of his injury, although he is being monitored.

Nigeria, who won the bronze medals in Egypt, open their campaign for a place in Cameroon 2021 by welcoming the Squirrels of Benin Republic (who also featured in Egypt) to the Godswill Akpabio Stadium, Uyo on Wednesday, November 13, before flying to Maseru to play Lesotho’s Crocodiles on Sunday, November 17, on Day Two of the qualifying series.

Below are the 23 players to slug it out with Benin Republic and Lesotho

Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC); Maduka Okoye (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany)

Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (CD Leganes, Spain); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia)

Midfielders: Alexander Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Mikel Agu (Vitoria Guimaraes, Portugal); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Ramon Azeez (Granada FC, Spain)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassr, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Lille OSC, France); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Emmanuel Dennis (Club Brugge, Belgium); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France);

Standby: Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Peter Olayinka (SK Slavia Prague, Czech Republic); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City, England)


Leave A Reply