Your SEO optimized title

Breaking: President Buhari finally replaces service Chiefs


President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the appointment of new Chief of Defense Staff (CDS) just as service chiefs.

Femi Adesina, presidential spokesman, broke the news on Tuesday evening.

The new service chiefs are Lucky Irabor, a major general of the Nigerian army as head of defence staff; I Attahiru, chief of army staff; A Z Gambo, chief of naval staff; and I O Amao, chief of air staff.

He wished the ex service chiefs all the best in their endeavours.

“President Muhammadu Buhari has accepted the immediate resignation of the Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service,” the statement read.

“Those involved are the Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

“President Buhari thanks the outgoing Service Chiefs for what he calls their overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country, wishing them well in their future endeavours.

“The new Service Chiefs are: Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

“The President congratulates the new Service Chiefs, and urges them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities.”

The outgoing service chiefs were appointed in 2015 but there were calls for them to be sacked based on the rising insecurity in the country.


Leave A Reply