Your SEO optimized title

33 states fail to pay health workers COVID-19 health allowance


33 states are yet to pay COVID-19 health workers the new hazard allowance.

The Secretary of the National Association of Resident Doctors of Nigeria, Dr Bilqis Mohammed, stated that with the exception of Lagos, Nassarawa, Enugu and Ogun, all other states in the country have not paid the hazard allowance to the health workers.

However in Ogun, the NARD in the state-owned Olabisi Onabanjo Teaching Hospital, Sagamu said they have not been paid yet.

On April 27, the Minister of State for Health, Dr Olorunnibe Mamora, said the government had approved the payment of the hazard allowance to all COVID-19 health workers.

He said “The Federal Government agreed to shelve the payment of the existing N5,000 hazard allowance, which had been in existence since 1991. In its place, a special COVlD-19 hazard and inducement allowance of 50 per cent of the consolidated basic salary is to be paid to all health workers in all the Federal Government teaching hospitals and federal medical centres and her designated COVlD-19 centres and primary health care centres to last for the first three months in the first instance.”

“Forty per cent of consolidated basic salary would be paid as special COVlD-19 hazard and inducement allowance to health workers at special non-public hospitals and clinics in the federal ministries, departments and agencies for same three months’ period.”

On Saturday, the NARD gave government an August 17  deadline to meet its demand.


Leave A Reply