Your SEO optimized title

Ninth National Assembly: How Lawan, Gbajabiamila emerged


Ahmad Lawan, lawmaker representing Yobe north senatorial district, has been elected president of the senate.

Lawan secured 79 votes to defeat Ali Ndume from Borno south who polled 28 votes.

Although the two contestants are of the All Progressives Congress (APC), the leadership of the ruling party had endorsed the new senate president.

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) had teamed up with Ndume but unlike in 2015 when Bukola Saraki, then of the APC, rode to power with the support of the PDP, the ruling party perfected its plot to ensure Lawan’s victory.

Earlier, Yayaha Abdullahi from Kebbi had nominated Lawan for the position while Solomon Olamilekan from Lagos seconded the nomination.

Ndume was nominated by Ishaku Abu from Adamawa and Barry Mpigi from Rivers seconded the nomination.

Femi Gbajabiamila, majority leader in the 8th house of representatives, has been elected speaker.

The choice candidate of the leadership of the All Progressives Congress (APC) polled 281 votes to defeat Mohammed Bago, still of the APC, who had 76 votes.

Like Senate President Ahmad Lawan, Gbajabiamila was the preferred candidate of the APC in 2015 but Yakubu Dogara, who was then of the APC, had teamed up with the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to defeat him.

Dogara had defeated him with just eight votes.

While the sorting of votes was ongoing, Bago walked up to Gbajabiamila to congratulate him and this elicited a thunderous round of applause among their colleagues.

Idris Wase of the ruling party was elected deputy speaker of the house of representatives.

Wase, who had dropped his speakership ambition to support Gbajabiamila, was elected unopposed.


Leave A Reply