Your SEO optimized title

Atletico Madrid win third Europa league title


Atlético Madrid defeated Marseille 3-0 to win the Europa Cup for a third time in Wednesday.

Marseille failed to become the first French team to win a major European competition since 1995/96, when PSG beat SK Rapid Wien in the Cup Winner’s Cup.

Atletico Madrid led 1-0 at the break in the Europa League final.

Antoine Griezman’s strike separated the two sides as Andre-Frank Zambo-Aguissa’s mistake allowed Gabi to release the Frenchman, who slotted his effort into the bottom corner in the 21st minute.

Rudi García’s men should have been ahead in the early stages when Dimitri Payet played in Valere Germain, but the striker placed his shot over the bar in the fourth minute.

The French side were dealt a massive blow when Payet was forced off with an injury 13 minutes to half time.

Griezman doubled Atletico’s lead with a clinical finish from Koke’s cross in the 49th minute.

Gabi scored his first Europa League goal in his 25th appearance in the competition to seal the win for Atletico.


Leave A Reply